Press Statement

Several countries in the world have witnessed infections with the Coronavirus, and the government has taken a number of preventive measures to preserve the safety of Iraqi citizens and to prevent the spread of this virus in Iraq.

As far as the matter is concerned with the Foreign Ministry regarding the content of the  Diwan Order Committee No. 55 of 2020, the Foreign Minister directed the implementation of the second point of the decision, and the continued suspension of granting entry permits to foreigners  arriving  directly or indirectly from the People’s Republic of China, and the Islamic Republic of Iran until further notice and implementing the third point by stopping granting entry permits to foreigners, directly or indirectly, from countries (Thailand, South Korea, Japan, Italy, and Singapore) until further notice.

This decision excludes Iraqis in these countries, diplomats working in diplomatic missions, and official delegations provided that they undergo the procedures of the Health Ministry.

Foreign Ministry Official Spokesman

Dr. Ahmed Al-Sahaf